28th March 2014

I’ve seen a lot of people writing about what they get up to in an ordinary day. Sometimes they are interesting, sometimes they are not. Either way, it’s a good idea. So, I wanted to have a go and see what happens.

I had school. I was expecting that I would have a pretty bad day, because I thought that I’d have to endure a Science lesson, which isn’t what I wanted on a Friday.

Anyway, before leaving, I made the decision not to take my Kindle, which I bring with me most days, as I doubted that I’d have much time to read. However, when I got in, the Study Room, the place in which I spend the majority of my time, was locked. Bollocks, I thought. The one day that I don’t pack the Kindle is the one day that the Study Room is shut.

The Regis School - The place where I sometimes learn things.

The Regis School – The place where I sometimes learn things.

Next to the Study Room is the Common Room, which doesn’t actually have a door, so it’s more of a Common Alcove. This is where I went to sit. Seeing as all of my work is digital, and that there are no computers in the Common Alcove Room, I didn’t have anything to do, aside from flicking through the notes I’ve taken in various lessons, which is what I did.

Ten years minutes had passed, and I had exhausted the notebook. But, at this point, and friend came up the stairs and into the Common Room. This is when I received some wonderful news. He informed me that we’d have triple ICT today, which meant that I didn’t have Science. Top.

The Study Room was unlocked by teacher after about another ten minutes, but by that point, there wasn’t really any point in logging on as we would have to leave soon. But I did anyway. This is when I remembered what I have been doing at home that morning. I was playing Pretend You’re Xyzzy, which is an online clone of Cards Against Humanity, which is how my friend and I spent the remainder of the time.

The first lesson was a double of ICT (not Science!) in which we would be spending time looking at another database exam in Microsoft Access. We started a new mock exam and began to work through it, with the teacher helping out along the way.

We got through the first Activity with no problem. All that was needed was a table of inputs, processes and outputs, and a few sentences about how various things would be achieved, like how a certain type of data would be found in the database. Kids’ stuff.

But, this is was when we hit a snag.

In the exam, we would need to split the data into different tables, in this particular example, the number of tables would be five. The recommended time for this Activity is thirty minutes, but none of us, teacher included, was able to work it out in an hour and a half. Needless to say, we left that lesson without completing it.

Tutor, which is basically where you go and ‘check-in’ so to speak with another teacher and possibly discuss anything that may be worrying you. But, more than likely, YouTube will be on within five minutes. Break, which comes after Tutor, was spent play Pretend You’re Eyzzy again, and then it was back to it.

Another hour of ICT would follow this. We continued with the same problem of splitting the tables and, long story short, we were still unable to do it correctly. I did find a way of doing it wrongly, but a way that worked nonetheless. But because you need to show how you split the tables, no marks would be given. Again, we left with this section incomplete, but with the teacher saying that he’d have a look at it over the weekend. I then spent the next hour or so playing Pretend You’re Eyzzy with a friend, before leaving.

I then went to Sainsbury’s to do a little bit of shopping. Which means that I spent a large amount of time looking at Blu-Rays. After that, I came back home, played a cheeky bit of Grand Theft Auto before becoming victim to a headache that had been threatening to pounce since this morning. Had some dinner (Ham, Egg and Chips) before reading some Insomnia by Stephen King.

With the headache now in full swing, I took a paracetamol and laid down for a bit. I then, as you do, became bored. But, the headache was now being kept at bay by the drugs, so I began to write this post.

That’s about it. I don’t know if this will be interesting or not, but I might write another if it is. I’m now going to read a bit more Insomnia, it really is rather good, before possibly watching a bit of Fawlty Towers.

Thanks for reading. Goodnight!

One comment

Leave a Reply

